Leaving a Legacy Designs

Helping you scrap your memories one page at a time

Creative Journaling

on October 3, 2012

Why do you scrapbook?  For me it is to document what is happening in our day to day lives so my kids and family can look back and remember.  Scrapbooking is a fun and creative way to share photos and memories.  The journaling part can get boring though.  I have a few ideas for you that I have found and used to spice up your journaling.

The easiest idea is using random words scattered on a page to tell your story.  It doesn’t have to be a typed out story just words on the page to tell your reader what is going on.  Try using different fonts, colors, sizes and even elements to tell your story.  Here are a few samples my team and I have created.

Here is one using I Make Dirt by Tricia

This one uses The Great Pumpkin and a blocking style.  I even added a little more journaling with the single words

This one uses word strips included in the kit Saucy

Kit is Grouchy and Grouchy Templates

It’s A Spring Thing page by Jenn.  This page uses no photos but tells a story about who Jenn is and how she sees herself.  A great page to look back on over the years to see how much you have changed.

I used word bits from Never Fear Super Dad is Here.  This page was just a random wrestling session between my boys and their dad.  No words are really needed so I just added the action words and let the photos do the talking.

Another great way to journal or add words to a page is in the background or in a shape.

This page by Jenn uses Grouchy!

I used a paper in the kit I Make Dirt for this fun page

A quote to cover the page was used here by Julia using the kit Me N You

Another technique is to use an element in the place of a word.

Henriett used the October Build a Kit pieces from Halloween Nights by Leaving a Legacy Designs and Monsters On Parade by Designs by Snowlady

A few other ideas would be to use a letter on the page and song lyrics.  Do you have some creative ideas for journaling?

I would love to see your pages and ways you have used creative journaling in your pages!  If you have a fun way you have used words or journaling link up your layout here so we can see and even go and leave you some love if it is in a gallery.

Have a Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

