Leaving a Legacy Designs

Helping you scrap your memories one page at a time

What the Font?

on January 9, 2013

Do you like to collect fonts?  I love fonts and have thousands and thousands on my computer, not all installed though.  There are a lot of things you can do with fonts.  Here are a few tips I have picked up on the web, from my team and in just playing with fonts.

The first thing you can do is lower the opacity and play with the blend modes.  The effect you get here is a stamped effect.  The text will take on the texture of the paper.  On my example I used the font Elephants in Cherry Trees, lowered the opacity to about 70% and changed the blend mode to multiply.

Lower Opacity

Next up you can make your font look like a sticker by putting a fill layer behind the font or adding a stroke.  Adding a stroke is an easy way to do it but I like the fill layer method much better.  Type out your text and then rasterize your text so you can edit it and play around.  I then created a new blank layer under my text.  Pressing CMD or CTRL and click on the text in the layers palette to select it.  This will give you the marching ants around your text.  Making sure you new layer is selected go to SELECT, MODIFY, EXPAND and depending on how big you want your sticker you select a pixel range.  I use between 10-20 usually.  You then can fill in this selected area by using ALT Backspace.  If you want to use a paper or a different color just clip it to the sticker layer.  You can now play with the layer, add texture etc.  Font used here is Lucy.

Sticker

Simply adjusting the spacing between the letters and words or even font sizes between words can add a different feel to the page.  Pairing it with an alpha or changing colors can also add a different feel to the title.  Check out the examples below…

In this one I added an element in place of a word and used two different colors for the title.  I also did a small stroke on the word adventure to make it pop

Here Comes Trouble

Here Comes Trouble

Paired with an alpha here…

The Great Pumpkin

The Great Pumpkin

Life's a Beach

Life’s a Beach

Here two different fonts, sizes and colors were used

The Greatest Gift

The Greatest Gift

DAY3

When using fonts opposites attract:  fat and skinny; serif and sans serif; big and small; upper case and lower case etc

Choose fonts with different kerning (space between the letters) or play with it yourself.  It can be a lot of fun to have large spaces between letters

Check out this poster I found on Pinterest that shows some of the examples…

Check back tomorrow for some favorite fonts from my team and myself as well as from the fans on Facebook.  If you haven’t told me yours head on over to facebook and leave me a message!  Also check out my Pinterest page for some fun links to fonts as well.

One response to “What the Font?

Leave a Reply

