Leaving a Legacy Designs

Helping you scrap your memories one page at a time

Open your eyes!

on April 10, 2013

Do you ever take several dozen photos and then find out the one you love has a flaw?  I got a great photo of my boys on Easter but the oldest blinked.  The little guy was facing the camera and smiling so I knew it was a keeper.  I needed to open the big kid’s eyes.  It is super fun and easy to fix…hang in there..lots of instructions but super easy once you get the hang of it.  I am still working on the video part.  My mic is too close to the keyboard on the laptop so you hear a lot of clicking during the video…got to get a different mic!  🙂

Here is my photo…It is tough to get a 2 year old to smile AND look at the camera so I had to go with this one!
Fixphoto

To start off with we need to make a brush!  Don’t panic, it is super easy and we will be using ones you already have in the presets.  Select your brush tool (shortcut is B).  Select a soft round brush about 300 pixels.  Then open the brush menu.  You can do this by either going to Windows and check brush OR press F5!  Now click on BRUSH TIP SHAPE and adjust settings as shown.  Hardness is at 0, spacing at 25%.

Brushtipshape

Then click on Other Dynamics or in CS6 it is Transfer.  Make sure Opacity Jitter and Flow Jitter are OFF and at 0%.  Still with me?  Not so bad right?other_dynamics

Now make sure airbrush is checked!  In CS6 it is not in the brush menu but at the top tool bar…

Airbrush_tip

Uncheck protect texture, make sure Noise, build up, smoothing are all checked then we are going to save the brush.  You click on the little icon that looks like a paper.  Give it a unique name.  Mine is photo editing I think and save!
final_save_for_brush

Now lets get to the fun part!  Open your two photos (one that you need to fix and you are going to steal the body part from)…sounds like Invasion of the Body Snatchers right?  Here is the one I am stealing from.  His eyes are kind of squinty here but it is the best one..little guy moved away.

Steal body part photo

Now that you have your two photos lets get to work…Working with the second photo, select your Lasso Tool (the one that looks like a cowboy lasso, shortcut L). Select the desired area by dragging your lasso around it like so, in my case I need his eyes.

2013-04-09_1442

Using your Move Tool (main arrow, shortcut V), drag the selected area to your other photo (the one we are editing).

2013-04-09_1444

Go ahead and minimize your 2nd photo. We don’t need it anymore. Move the selected area over the desired location. Now we need to line it up, make sure it’s the right size, etc. The best way I’ve found to do this is working with my zoom and opacity.

2013-04-09_1447

If you were fortunate to be able to steal body parts from another picture that had the exact same lighting, then you can skip this next step. Mine aren’t too different but I noticed it off a touch. So down in my layers palette make sure that your body part is selected (my new eyes). Then go ahead and change your opacity back to 100%, but stay zoomed in.
Then I’m going to go up to the menu and select “Image”, “Adjustments”, “Brightness/Contrast”.
2013-04-09_1449
Play around with the brightness and contrast until you think it matches well enough. I adjusted my brightness +18 and left my contrast the same.
Next we are going to blend the two parts together with a layer mask and our photo blending brush. In your layers palette make sure layer of the body part selection is highlighted and click on the button at the bottom that looks like a square with a circle in it.
2013-04-09_1450
Then we need to select our brush tool and choose our “Photo Blending” brush. My diameter was bigger than I needed, so I changed mine to fit the area I was working with.  Make sure your foreground color is set to black and begin taking your brush along the edges to blend. Here’s mine about halfway done to give you an idea.  If you click too much of an area just switch to white by pressing the X to bring it back.  Click X or D again to bring up the black as foreground and keep working.  Black takes away, white adds!
2013-04-09_1453 2013-04-09_1452
Keep using your brush until it’s completely blended, and then you are done! Save the file as a .jpeg and you have a new edited picture!!!  You can do this technique with any body part (heads, arms etc. )  Just think if you have a great family photo and the baby looks away but in the next photo everyone is look funky but the baby.  Take the baby’s head and move it to the good photo…Link me up to your images if you give this a try.  Also email me if you have any questions on how to do this!
FIXEDPHOTO
Be sure to watch my Facebook page later today for a COUPON!! (hint, hint!)
Leave a Reply

