Leaving a Legacy Designs

Helping you scrap your memories one page at a time

Confessions of a Creative Team Member!

on May 1, 2013

Let me first start off by saying I am not an expert at this nor do I claim to be. I am not on any creative teams at this time but there was a time when I was….

Let’s go back a few years when I was a homeschooling mom of a 6 year old and a 2 month old! I had discovered digi scrapping not too long before and thought the best way to get FREE kits is to be on a creative team so I applied to all my favorite designers! Slowly (this didn’t happen all at once) I added a team to my list until I found myself on 10, yes 10 teams at one time. How in the world did I manage this…let me share!

First thing is ORGANIZE! I am a pen and paper girl so I had a calendar book (student planner) that I would jot down all my assignments. I also set up my desktop with places to put the kits I was working on, needed to work on, should be working on…you get the idea. I am a visual person so I needed to see each kit on my desktop to remind me.

I learned the best way to get layouts done (I still use this with my own kits) is to do them at speed scraps or challenges! The idea or even layout was already there and I just needed to put together the idea.

Okay now the confessions…When I first started creative teaming I was making layouts using my style of scrapbooking and thinking all was fine. I thought my layouts were beautiful and everyone would buy that designer’s kit because of my layouts. Boy was I wrong!! Check out these two layouts…

KSM_LC_POOLTIME_LO2WEB KSM_LC_POOLTIME_LO1

It was brought to my attention by a designer that I wasn’t showing the kit off very well. How dare she? Now she didn’t come to me directly or email me and say hey your pages stink. She kindly sent out a team newsletter that suggested some great links on places to find some awesome creative team layouts to lift. If you are not a big cluster person and you can see I was NOT then I suggest templates. I went in search for any and all templates that would offer any help. I then started to look at the assignments as a use it all challenge. How much of that kit could I use on my page and make it look fabulous at the same time. My goal is to help her sell the kit right? How was she going to sell it with layouts that barely showed any elements or even papers on them. So confession number 1: do not be offended if a designer offers suggestions on improving your layouts, they may actually really stink! I had to learn to leave my style out of those pages and show off the kit. This eventually became easy to me and became my style of scrapping.  Also one last note was to ONLY use the kit on my pages. It can be tempting at time to add a fun alpha or use a photoshop action or style to change up an element but if a customer can’t do it then they may be disappointed.  If you love that alpha or style then make 2 pages.  Leave it out for the designer and then for your own book add it back in..Tune in next week to find out how I, a mother of two boys, came up with creative ways to use girly kits or kits that I didn’t love!

I will leave you with a layout of Let’s Party and the links to find the next part of this kit…super cute right?  ahhh!  I am loving this kit.  This is the first page I made with it and I love it!

LLD_LETSPARTY_LO1

Day 2’s part of the Let’s Party Kit can be found on my facebook fan page.  You must like me or I won’t give you the part you need!  Just kidding…but seriously you do have to like my page to get the next part.  If you missed yesterday’s part don’t fret.  I will have all the days in my store for sale on Saturday so you can grab the day you missed.  If you do not feel like waiting for the whole kit you can get it in my store for 30% off right now!  Just click on the preview to head to the store!  Make sure you have signed up for my newsletter…there will be a part in there AND a special newsletter only freebie!
 photo PREVIEWWEB_zps9fde88df.jpg

A closer look at the papers!
 photo LETSPARTY-papersweb_zpsb8099f32.jpg

5 responses to “Confessions of a Creative Team Member!

  1. crystalnva says:

    LUV THIS KIT…THANK YOU ;~}

  2. Lisa says:

    We all have our pages when we first started digi scrapping that don’t look too hot. Guess that means we must have learned a little something since we started! lol Anyway, thanks for part 2 of this beautiful kit. Going to FB now.

  3. Lisa says:

    I forgot to say how adorable your layout it and today’s part is so cute. Thanks again.

  4. Tricia says:

    Thanks so much! Love that candle border 🙂

  5. Priscilla Ashley says:

    I’ve been searching for a contact page on your blog since yesterday and kept thinking I was overlooking it. I was trying to participate in collecting your super cute kit, but I don’t use fb. Is it just my loss?

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

